My first experience using AtomicDEX/FiroDEX

I hope this information is helpful.

I acknowledge that I am brand new to all this… and maybe I was doing something very wrong…

But here is a review of my experience.

Last evening I spent some time playing with AtomicDEX. I attempted 22 trades… from a sort of random list of trading pairs I might be interested in.
I learned a lot about AtomicDEX.

The first time I used AtomicDEX was maybe a week ago… and I only tried ZEC to FIRO… then back again… FIRO to ZEC. I was super impressed. :ok_hand:t3: I had not really looked closely at the exchange fees/rates. But it was slick!! :+1:t3:

What I noticed last night though, was not so good.

Out of the 22 trades I attempted… Only 3 were successful.

I calculated the total of fees simply by subtracting the USD value of the resulting coins from the USD of the starting coins… then dividing that by the starting coins USD value.

Then…

I attempted all 22 trades using the Edge Wallet, with its integrated no-KYC exchanges and the feature of finding the best rate for you on the fly.

With the Edge Wallet I was able to complete 20 of the 22 trading pairs I tried.

With AtomicDEX I was able to complete only 3 of the 22 trading pairs I tried.

Also, on those 3 swaps I was able to complete on AtomicDEX… the trade fees I paid were significantly more than the trade fees for the identical trades on Edge.app

Several times on AtomicDEX, I got errors like…

“BTC balance does not have enough funds to pay the gas of BTC transactions.” — even though I had a BTC balance of about $1000 in the local wallet which had fully confirmed days earlier

“FIRO balance does not have enough funds to pay the gas of FIRO transactions.” ---- even though I had $200 in FIRO and FIRO transaction fees are very near zero.

I also got…

“No buy orders found for BTC.”

“No buy orders found for FIRO.”

“No buy orders found for ZEC.”

“A non-zero BNB balance is required to pay the gas of BNB transactions.”