How do I get started in Firo?

I’m new to all of this. I need help with just about everything. I have a wallet - with nothing in it. Is there a step-by-step guide to Firo?

Hey there, Patty Prepper! Welcome to Firo!
There isn’t a step-by-step guide, but I am more than happy to help!
Are you new to just Firo, or are you new to cryptocurrencies as a whole?
Which wallet did you select?

1 Like

I’m new to crypto altogether. However, I’m learning a lot just by poking around a little. What I need to know is how to connect my bank to Firo and buy something.

I chose the QT Wallet.

Congratulations on taking your first step, then! How’d you find out about crypto and Firo, if I may ask?

Excellent choice! QT is one of our full node (blockchain) wallets and therefore supports our privacy features, but as you may have already noticed it requires a period to sync up to the blockchain. This will be a process that happens any time the wallet is off for a period of time.

As for your question, you cannot connect a bank account to the wallet. The two modes to getting Firo are through mining, or through buying/swapping. Here is our page with exchanges that support Firo: Buy firo | Firo - Privacy-preserving cryptocurrency

You’ll notice that there are categories. DEXes, Firo/Fiat pairings, Firo/Crypto pairings, and coin swapping. To use money, you will need to choose Firo/fiat. Unfortunately, because of regulation, this can be a bit problematic as not everywhere is supported.

1 Like

Thank you. You’re making me feel like maybe I can do this.

I found out about Firo through Mike Adams who uses Firo as one of his tipping systems on his site.

What does “requires a period to sync up to the blockchain” mean? Is that why it says 97% synced? Is there anything I can do to help it along? So do I need to wait for it to completely sync before I can go further?

I will probably need to use the Firo/fiat pairing. So how do I solve the problematic aspect of this?

I REALLY appreciate your help.